NSA joins with wider industry to call for firm reassurance from Government

27th January 2020

NSA is pleased to have joined together with a wide group of industry bodies, not just representing farming, but also environmental and wildlife groups to call on the Prime Minister to commit to ensuring animal welfare and safety standards, as well as environmental standards, are not undermined after Brexit.

NSA Chief Executive Phil Stocker comments: “There has never been a more important time for industry to unite and work together for the greater good of our countryside, landscapes and food production. We’re extremely pleased to be a part of such a diverse and united group and hope this sort of Unity can continue in the future.

To bring such a group together shows the severity of our concern for the future of UK Agriculture, and the letter to the Prime Minister makes it clear this would not be acceptable. But it also offers support and recognises potential for the future. There are many opportunities and NSA is ready to get behind the progress – but is clear, we must have an industry left, with high standards and not undercut by substandard imports, to support and be proud of as new trade agreements are stuck.”

The organisations who signed the letter are as follows:
Minette Batters – President, National Farmers Union
Beccy Speight, Chief Executive, RSPB
Katie White – Executive Director of Advocacy and Campaigns, WWF-UK
Hilary McGrady – Director General, National Trust
Patience Thody – Acting Chief Executive, The Wildlife Trusts
Chris Sherwood – Chief Executive, RSPCA
John Davies – President, NFU Cymru
Ivor Ferguson – President, Ulster Farmers Union
Andrew McCornick – President, NFU Scotland
Shirley Cramer CBE – Chief Executive, Royal Society for Public Health
Dr Darren Moorcroft – Chief Executive, The Woodland Trust
John Sauven – Executive Director, Greenpeace UK
Kath Dalmeny – Chief Executive, Sustain: the alliance for better food and farming
Shaun Spiers – Executive Director, Green Alliance
Mark Bridgeman – President, CLA
George Dunn, Chief Executive, Tenant Farmers Association
Helen Browning – Chief Executive, Soil Association
Caroline Drummond, Chief Executive, LEAF
Patrick Holden – Chief Executive, Sustainable Food Trust
Crispin Truman – Chief Executive, CPRE: The countryside charity
 David Goodwin – Chairman, NFYFC AGRI
Richard Griffiths – Chief Executive, British Poultry Council
David Johnstone – Chairman, Scottish Land & Estates
Andrew Laughton – Chairman, National Beef Association
Richard Lister – Chair, National Pig Association
Phil Stocker – Chief Executive, National Sheep Association
Mark Williams – Chief Executive, British Egg Industry Council
Jyoti Fernandes MBE – Chief Executive, Landworkers Alliance
Richard Benwell – Chief Executive, Wildlife and Countryside Link
Roger Kerr, Chief Executive, Organic Farmers and Growers
Michael Krause – Acting Chief Executive, Plantlife
James Thornton – Chief Executive Officer, ClientEarth
Steve Andrews – Chief Executive, Earthwatch Europe
Will Travers OBE – Executive President, Born Free Foundation
Paula Sparks – Chairperson, UK Centre for Animal Law (A-Law)
Dr Mark Avery – Co-Founder, Wild Justice
Christopher Price – Chief Executive, Rare Breeds Survival Trust
Prof. Alastair Driver – Director, Rewilding Britain
Chris Fegan – Director, Catholic Concern for Animals
Georgina Groves – Executive Director, Wild Welfare
Caroline Yates – Chief Executive, Mayhew
Bob Elliott – Director, OneKind
Matt Shardlow – Chief Executive, Buglife
Stephen Sibbauld – UK Country Director, World Animal Protection
Andy Knott – Chief Executive, League Against Cruel Sports
Andy Atkins – Chief Executive, A Rocha UK
Caroline Ruane – Chief Executive, Naturewatch Foundation
Dr Nick Palmer – Head of Compassion UK, Compassion in World Farming
Julie Williams – Chief Executive, Butterfly Conservation
Fiona Matthews – Chair, The Mammal Society
Jill Nelson – Chief Executive, People’s Trust for Endangered Species
Dominic Dyer – Chief Executive, Badger Trust
Brian Da Cal – Director, Four Paws UK
Lucy MacLennan – Chief Executive, Organic Research Centre
Dr Keith Tyrell – Director, Pesticides Action Network
Dan Crossley – Executive Director, the Food Ethics Council
Simon Billing – Executive Director, Eating Better
Prof. Tim Lang – Founder Food Research Collaboration, City, University of London
Colin Tudge – Director, The Real Farming Trust
John Turner – Coordinator, Farm Transition Pathways
James Morford – Chairman, Family Farmers Association
Miles King – Director, People Need Nature
Jan Creamer – President, Animal Defenders International